Impact Factors Workgroup Report

  • Susie Allard Associate Dean for Research and Director, Center for Information & Communication Studies, University of Tennessee
  • Ali Andalibi Associate Dean of Research, Science, George Mason University
  • Patty Baskin President, Council of Science Editors (CSE) and Executive Editor, Neurology Journals
  • Marilyn Billings Scholarly Communication & Special Initiatives Librarian, UMass Amherst
  • Eric Brown Division Leader, Explosive Science and Shock Physics, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Todd Carpenter Executive Director, NISO
  • Stephanie Orfano Head of Scholarly Communications, University of Toronto
  • Brian Selzer Assistant Director of Publications, American Public Health Association


Following up on recommendations from OSI 2016, this team will dig deeper into the question of developing and recommending new tools to repair or replace the journal impact factor (and/or how it is used), and propose actions the OSI community can take between now and the next meeting. Whatââ¬â¢s needed? What change is realistic and how will we get there from here?