HSS Scholars & Scientists Workgroup Report

  • Shira Eller Art & Design Librarian, George Washington University
  • William Gunn Director of Scholarly Communications, Elsevier
  • Diane Scott-Lichter Sr. Vice President, Publishing, American College of Physicians; Chair, AAP/PSP Executive Committee
  • Joan Lippincott Associate Executive Director, Coalition for Networked Information
  • Aimee Nixon Head of Open Access Publishing, Emerald
  • Concetta Seminara Editorial Director, Social Science & Humanities Journals, Routledge/Taylor & Francis
  • Roger Schonfeld Director, Library and Scholarly Communication Program, Ithaka S+R


The HSS Scholars and Scientists workgroup was convened in recognition of the diverse dynamics and requirements of different research communities, particularly within the Humanities and the Social Sciences (HSS). Within these disciplines there are significant differences in research culture, practices, and access to funding, highlighting that a different approach may be required to embed an open science environment.