Participation in the Current System


  • Nancy Davenport University Librarian, American University
  • Barbara DeFelice Program Director for Scholarly Communication, Copyright and Publishing, Dartmouth College
  • Gary Evoniuk Director of Publication Practices, GlaxoSmithKline (GSK)
  • Pollyanne Frantz Executive Director, Grants Resource Center, American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU)
  • Julie Hannaford Deputy Chief Librarian, University of Toronto
  • Jeff Mackie-Mason Dean of Libraries, University of California Berkeley
  • Jane McAuliffe Director, National and international Outreach, Library of Congress
  • Jennifer Pesanelli Deputy Executive Director for Operations and Director of Publications, Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)
  • Paul Royster Coordinator of Scholarly Communications, University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
  • Crispin Taylor Executive Director, American Society of Plant Biologists
  • Michael Wolfe Executive Director, Authors Alliance



Do researchers and scientists participate in the current system of scholarly publishing because they like it, they need it, they donââ¬â¢t have a choice in the matter, or they donââ¬â¢t really care one way or another? What perceptions, considerations and incentives do academicians have for staying the course (like impact factors and tenure points), and what are their pressures and incentives for changing direction (like lowering publishing charges)?